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the mage’s chest

...and during the quest, they  also learn  about

the mage’s  chest, containing secret formulas, 

parchments, and precious  gems.

Discard 1 Gold Coin and 2 cards from your 
hand to score 4 VP. You may repeat this 

action any number of times.
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A6
the ghost vessel

After the storm, a menacing galleon with torn sails  

is  advancing towards  the  coast. The moans  of its  

terrible  crew  overwhelm the  anger  of the waves. 

The kingdom must be defended...

Discard 1 Sword and any 1 Villain in play 
to score 5 VP; then, all players draw 1 card.

Discard 1 Armor and reveal 1 Villain from 
your hand to force all players to either give
you 1 card from their hand or discard 2 VP.

Discard 1 Magic Wand and 1 card from your hand to take 
1 card of the same type from the discard pile and play it.
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All players may reveal 1 Place from 
their hand to score 1 VP.

Play 1 Place 
  

draw 1 card from the deck.

THE WITCH’S COVE
Overcome morays and corals, 

come to me and I will help you!

All players draw 1 card. You may play 1 Male, Female, or Villain in front of you without activating it.

SHIPWRECK
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At the end of your turn, score 2VP if you have at least 
1 Female in play in front of you. If she is a Princess 

or the Little Mermaid, score 1 additional VP.

PRINCE
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Take 1 Prince from the discard pile and play him. 

If there’s no Prince in the discards, take him from 

any player. Draw 1 Pact. You may discard 1 Pact.

LITTLE MERMAID
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 Contents 
- A deck of 26 cards:

• 24 Playing cards

• 2 Setting card for the basic game: A6 and B6
  

- A deck of 20 cards with the Sea Witch Pacts

- These rules.

When the young mermaid turned fifteen, she was given permission to leave. 
She swam toward the sky that she could see over her head. With a spray 

of thousands of droplets, she raised above the sea’s surface, and saw on the deck 
of a magnificent caravel a young and handsome prince...
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All players may reveal 1 Villain from 
their hand to score 1 VP.

Only if it’s Night, play 1 Villain  
 

take 2 Gold Coins from the supply.

THE STINKING CONCOCTION
If you drink my potion, I will give you

the chance you are looking for!

Name
Description

Artworks

Second condition: 
for all the players

Victory Point at the end 
of the game if in hand

First condition:
for the turn player

 Preparation 

The preparation and game play proceed as the normal Dark Tales, with the following changes:

Add the playing cards from the expansion to those from the basic game before shuffling. This will 
increase the playing time a bit. (If you wish to play a shorter game, randomly remove 10 different cards 
from the basic game before adding the cards from the expansion.)

Add the two new setting cards (A6, B6) to those from the basic game before randomly selecting which 
two you will use for the game. (You can use these two new Setting cards with any Dark Tales game, not 
only games using this expansion!)

Shuffle the Sea Witch Pact cards, and place them nearby in a facedown Pact stack, separate from the 
Playing card deck. The Sea Witch Pact cards form a separate stack, and are never shuffled with the 
Playing cards (they are a different size to help you tell them apart).

 The Sea Witch Pacts 

Some of the cards in this expansion have this new symbol:  . These are the Sea Witch Pacts. These 
Pacts offer a new way to score Victory Points, draw cards, or gain other benefits—for a price!

The Pact cards are kept in a separate draw pile called the Pact stack. Pact cards are not affected by normal 
Playing cards (such as those which tell you to draw cards from the deck or to count the number of cards 
in your hand, etc.), unless they show one of these two symbols:

	 Draw 1 Sea Witch Pact: When you play a card with this symbol, you must (unless specified 
otherwise) draw 1 Sea Witch Pact. This is the only way to draw Sea Witch Pacts. You can 
have any number of Pacts.

	 Discard 1 Sea Witch Pact: When you play a card with this symbol, you may (unless 
specified otherwise) discard 1 of your Sea Witch Pact.



Discard 1 Place and 1 Male in play.
Score 2 VP for each card discarded.

DRAGON?

2 2

2b

Take 1 Place and 1 Female in play 
and add them to your hand.

OGRE2

2b
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All players may reveal 1 Villain from 
their hand to score 1 VP.

Only if it’s Night, play 1 Villain  
 

take 2 Gold Coins from the supply.

THE STINKING CONCOCTION
If you drink my potion, I will give you

the chance you are looking for!
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All players may reveal 1 Villain from 
their hand to score 1 VP.

Only if it’s Night, play 1 Villain  
 

take 2 Gold Coins from the supply.

THE STINKING CONCOCTION
If you drink my potion, I will give you

the chance you are looking for!

FRONT BACK

FRONT BACK
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Pact cards are kept separate from the regular Playing cards. They do not count as part of your hand when 
drawn, and they are never added to the Playing card deck or discard pile. Discarded Pacts are placed in 
their own discard pile. If the Pact stack is empty, re-shuffle the Pact discards and create a new stack.

During Phase 2 of your turn, instead of using an effect of the A Setting card, you may play 1 Sea 
Witch Pact, by placing it in the discard pile.

To play a Pact, you must perform the steps described in the First Condition, above the arrow. Then you 
gain the bonus below the arrow. Fulfilling the First Condition is required! If you cannot fulfill the First 
Condition, you cannot play the Pact. On the other hand, if you can’t receive all of the bonus listed 
(such as drawing a card from the deck when it is empty), you may still play that Pact.

Once you have completed the First Condition, all players may benefit from the Second Condition. 
Each player, starting with you and going clockwise, chooses whether or not they will fulfill the Second 
Condition to gain the bonus listed. The Second Condition is always optional.

Beware! You lose 3 Victory Points for each Pact you still have in your hand when the game ends.

Remember:
•	If a Pact instructs you to draw a card from the deck, it means the Playing card deck.

•	If a Pact asks you to reveal a card, the card is revealed and then it goes back in your hand.

•	Even though you can hold Pacts in your hand for convenience, they do not belong to your hand, which 
is made up only of regular Playing cards, and thus are never counted to determine when the game 
ends, how many cards you have in hand, etc.

•	The Witch (from the base game) does not prevent you from drawing Pacts!

•	The Seventht Heaven Pact does not have a Second Condition for all players. Even if you have more than 
1 Prince or Female in play, you get the bonus only once.

Example: It is Night. During Phase 2 of your turn, 
you play The Stinking Concoction, placing it on the 
Pact discard pile. Then you play a Dragon from 
your hand. After resolving its effect, you take the last 
remaining Gold Coin from the supply (you are entitled 
to take 2, but only 1 is left). Then you reveal an Ogre 
from your hand and score 1 VP. Each of the other 
players, in turn, may also choose to reveal a Villain 
from their hand to score 1 VP, or not. After the Pact is 
resolved, you move on to Phase 3 of your turn, where 
you play a card as usual.

Note that: 1) if you couldn’t play a Villain from your 
hand (First Condition), you could not play the Pact 
and that 2) the Dragon you played for the Pact does not 
count as the card you must play during Phase 3.



 Notes on the Cards 

Little Mermaid 	 You can only take a Prince from another player who has him in front of 
them if there is no Prince in the discard pile.

Sea Witch	 Remember that “all players” includes you, so you draw a total of 2 Pacts 
before getting the chance to discard 1.

Shipwreck 	 You may choose 1 Villain or 1 Male or 1 Female you have in hand and put 
it into play in front of you, even if it does not have the  icon. When 
the card enters play, you don’t activate any of its effects and you do not 
score any victory points. However, if the card has continuous effects, 
these are triggered as normal (e.g., if you put the Old Sage into play, 
you still get victory points from him at the end of your turn if it’s Day).

Follow us:Follow us:

Thanks to all the play-testers, to their gaming groups, and to all the players for all the precious suggestions. 
Special thanks to Paolo Bachiorri, Sabrina Carazzo, and Paolo Chiorri.

Thanks to all the play-testers, to their gaming groups, and to all the players for all the precious suggestions. 
Special thanks to Paolo Bachiorri, Sabrina Carazzo, and Paolo Chiorri.
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Play with the other expansions available:

SHOW WHITE LITTLE RED RIDING HOOD CINDERELLA

All players draw 1 Pact. You draw 1 
additional Pact. You may discard 1 Pact.

SEA WITCH

5

2

Take 1 Prince from the discard pile and play him. 
If there’s no Prince in the discards, take him from 
any player. Draw 1 Pact. You may discard 1 Pact.

LITTLE MERMAID
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All players draw 1 card. You may play 
1 Male, Female, or Villain in front of you without activating it.

SHIPWRECK

3

2

/ /


